Loss. Part 2: Lost & Found

Day Thirteen: Write about something “found” but (twist) continue with the series from Day Four. 

So in Part 1, I wrote about leaving NY as my “loss.” Keeping with that theme… 

Moving to a new place always feels exciting, new, challenging.  L.A. and D.C. were easier than Peru & Trinidad but they have all been fantastic.  I could say I “found myself” living in a foreign country but not only would that be cliche, it would also be false. I’m always learning new things about myself – growing – gaining perspective – etc. What I FIND is that I’m capable of a lot more than I give myself credit for. Every day, or every week at least, I tackle a new challenge. Whether it is as simple (or not so simple) as deciding where to buy groceries, or driving on the other side of the road (and car), or dealing with sorrow and family tragedy so far from where it occurs, I find something new I can handle. It helps that I have a stellar support system both near and far. My husband and his family are wonderful and I have made some really great friends. Plus, I am pretty good at being positive. Don’t get me wrong – I know how to complain! But once I talk,write,think about something frustrating, the next time I mention it, I’m usually laughing.  

I have “found” the beauty of this country amongst the run down areas.  I have “found” that love truly does conquer all when you let it – or at least it helps you get through. I have “found” that being a mom is my favorite job so far, no matter how hard it is. And, I have “found” that when a boy and goat are crossing the road, you just have to wait. 

Adrienne

Image

ImageImage

P.S.

Aside: My first thought about something I found was about the numerous items that always found their way back to me… When I lived in NY, I had a little black Coach wallet that I left on a train, forgot on the top of my car, left in a NYC cab, and was in a fire. Every time, I got it back with everything in it.  When I was in L.A. I left a shirt on the grass at a concert. Before we left I found it (in the dark), to the astonishment of my new friends.  And when I was in D.C., I went to a concert in Maryland and lost my shoes (don’t ask), and after the concert, once again I found them scattered amongst the garbage and lost items (including other lost shoes by the way) – that time even the guards were surprised. I am one lucky girl. =)   

6 thoughts on “Loss. Part 2: Lost & Found

  1. As I’ve been meeting new people from all over the world through this thing called blogging I’ve discovered that people are really much the same everywhere, so even though we end up in a different place we are really not far from home. That’s what I got from your article today. You found that you were home even though you had traveled to a new land.

  2. I really enjoyed your post… and especially the note at the end. You ARE lucky! Your comment “I have “found” that being a mom is my favorite job so far” struck a common chord with me. It truly is the best and hardest job any of us will ever have!

  3. Your last paragraph, before the PS and your signature, was just perfect. Enjoyed the entire post, but that paragraph was lovely and easy and made me smile.

  4. “I have “found” the beauty of this country amongst the run down areas. I have “found” that love truly does conquer all when you let it – or at least it helps you get through. I have “found” that being a mom is my favorite job so far, no matter how hard it is. And, I have “found” that when a boy and goat are crossing the road, you just have to wait.”

    Perfect stated! I have actually been reading this last paragraph a few times a week. It really resonates with me.

Leave a Reply

