What if that day never happened?

What if that day never happened? All the events just erased from history. How would your life be different? We can never truly know the answer to that question. 

I have a story for you.

February 21, 2005. 28 years old. She never thought an expression could change the course of events in her life so drastically. She didn’t even know her true emotions were right out there in the open.

We all know events have the power to change the course of our lives.  Or maybe it was always meant to be so and we just don’t know it. Regardless, we could trace events back in time like a ripple effect, to our birth and beyond. Typically, however, we tend to pin point one day, one moment, one series of events, that changed our lives forever. This is that moment.

Sitting in my boss’ office, I was full of anticipation as was the case most of the time that month.  I had a week left.  One week!  One week until I was on my way to Charleston, SC with a truckload of belongings.  One week until I left NY to live with my boyfriend, in one of my favorite cities, with no clear plans on what I would do next.  One week.

I thought it was the right decision even though it didn’t feel quite right.  Two days prior I had sat in my best friend’s apartment sobbing though I wasn’t sure why.  She said, “Um, Age, you’re supposed to be happy right now.”  Still, I was determined to move forward with my not so well thought out plans. So when my boss casually asked me if I was ready for the move and “sure about this,” naturally I said, “Of course!”

Of course. Not. As the fates would have it, my boss was also a good friend of mine.  And sometimes your friends know you better than you know yourself.  They read you like a book you thought was closed.  I guess she saw something in my expression I didn’t know was coming through, or even existed. Doubt.

What happened next changed my life forever.

To be continued…

Adrienne

Foreshadow Challenge

3 thoughts on “What if that day never happened?

  1. Pingback: What if that day never happened? Part II | AdrienneCP

  2. Pingback: Please Stay [FLASH FICTION] | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

