Tis the season…

… to indulge in the gift of giving.

So much to write about… so little time.

I previously mentioned a “surprise” for the kids.  Our Christmas gift to them this year is a big one.  We are taking them to Disney!!!  We are ALL excited and we leave tomorrow.

We surprised them with a note on the advent calendar to look under the tree after dinner and they had a present to open with a note from Mickey Mouse.  It was perfect.

I have thought of many posts in the craziness since Thanksgiving (which was a hit by the way!), from controversial topics like race & religion (impossible not to think about these things with all that is going on in the world) to simple thoughts like holiday cheer and family fun.  But time has escaped me as usual.

If you have ready my blog previously, you know I am thankful all the time for all that I have been blessed with.  This time of year, even more so.  Although we do our little part by giving toys, food, or money to orphanages and charities it never feels like enough.  And while we have purposefully refrained from any trips or vacations this year so we could go to Disney, it’s hard not to realize there are so many that will never have this opportunity.

Sometimes, I feel SO lucky that I am just waiting for the other shoe to drop.  Why have I been blessed with so much when others suffer through tragedy and devastation?  I know that some of what we are given in life comes from the choices we make.  And while I do believe in karma, I would not consider myself a saint.  Things have happened in my life along the way that were less than desirable, but as the saying goes – “what doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger” – if you let it.

I don’t live everyday wondering if something terrible is going to happen – that’s absurd.  I also don’t spend every minute feeling sorry for others – it’s a waste of energy and thoughts.  But I DO thank my lucky starts every day of life.  And I DO enjoy the world of joy I’ve been given all the time (despite all it’s little annoyances).  Every moment can be a special one.  Love is truly the best gift of all – so this season, send some extra love out into the universe and help to make the world a better place, one thought at a time.

Adrienne

P.S.  Apologies if this post seems disjointed – I blame the little person growing in my belly – my thoughts are scattered these days. 😉

Yellow Flowers

Leave a Reply

