Ten Years.

Ten years (and two days) ago, I boarded a plane to Los Angeles, and moved across the country away from everything I knew and everyone I loved.  On Saturday, April 9, 2005, with no less than seven guide books tucked away in my luggage, my dream of living in California had become a reality.  I soon met awesome people, made great friends, and with them, enjoyed life in Redondo Beach in a way I never anticipated.  And I never used those guide books…

Redondo Beach, April 2005

Redondo Beach, April 2005

When I was 17, my high school English teacher asked us to write an essay on where we would be in ten years.  27 seemed like a lifetime away.  I didn’t have a clue what I wanted to study in college and I didn’t have a boyfriend.  Yet my teenage brain had a high powered career, husband, and kids locked down in ten years.  No one can predict the future.

At 28, it would be my career that would bring me opportunities for a new chapter in life.  And later, love, marriage, & kids would indeed bring me farther from where I began.  Now, ten years after my move to L.A. (and two countries later), I have more memories than I could have hoped for and good friends to remind me of them.  A lot can happen in ten years: weddings, babies, deaths.  Ten years of events that have both pulled me closer to, and pushed me farther from, those whom I love most.  Ten years of life changing, character shaping moments.

Today, I celebrate that move, the friends I made along the way, the good times shared.  Today, I celebrate a charmed life.

Adrienne

Leave a Reply

